top of page

For Clarinet in A and Piano


Composer: Franz Schubert

Editor: Seunghee Lee

Instrumentation: A Clarinet and Piano

Originally for: Arpeggione and Piano

ISBN: 978-1-7341719-1-4

Size: 9x12 inches

Pages: 12 (Clarinet part) 35 (Piano score)

Format: PDF files

Publisher: Musica Solis


Listen on YouTube


Schubert's Arpeggione Sonata in A minor, D. 821 is a chamber music piece originally written for the arpeggione, a now-obscure instrument that was similar to a cello but played like a guitar.


Today, the piece is most often performed on cello or viola, but it has also been arranged for other instruments, including the clarinet version here arranged by clarinetist, Seunghee Lee.


The Arpeggione Sonata is a beautiful example of Schubert's lyricism and gift for melody. The piece is divided into three movements: an Allegro moderato, an Adagio, and an Allegretto. The first movement begins with a flowing melody in the arpeggione, which is echoed by the piano. The clarinet arrangement maintains this flowing quality, with the clarinet and piano alternating between leading and supporting roles.


The Adagio is the emotional heart of the piece, featuring a soaring melody that is achingly beautiful. The clarinet's warm, expressive tone is well-suited to this movement, and Lee's arrangement allows the clarinet to shine while still maintaining the complex interplay between the two instruments.


The final movement is a lively dance, with playful melodies that showcase Schubert's skill with rhythm and harmony. The clarinet and piano trade off melodies and accompaniment, creating a sense of joyful conversation between the two instruments.


Seunghee Lee's arrangement of Schubert's Arpeggione Sonata for clarinet and piano is a beautiful interpretation of a beloved piece of chamber music. The clarinet's warm, expressive tone make this version of the sonata a joy to listen to.


Arpeggione Sonata (Clarinet in A)

    bottom of page